Jump Back

November 1993

CD (Virgin Records CDV 2726)


                  - Start Me Up  (MJ/KR)
                  - Brown Sugar  (MJ/KR)
                  - Harlem Shuffle (MJ/KR)
                  - It's Only Rock 'n Roll (MJ/KR)
                  - Mixed Emotions  (MJ/KR)
                  - Angie (MJ/KR)
                  - Tumbling Dice  (MJ/KR)
                  - Fool to Cry (MJ/KR)
                  - Rock and a Hard Place (MJ/KR)
                  - Miss You (MJ/KR)
                  - Hot Stuff  (MJ/KR)
                  - Emotional Rescue  (MJ/KR)
                  - Respectable (MJ/KR)
                  - Beast of Burden (MJ/KR)
                  - Waiting on a Friend(MJ/KR)
                  - Wild Horses  (MJ/KR)
                  - Bitch (MJ/KR)
                  - Undercover of the Night  (MJ/KR)

Released in 1994 to coincide with the Stones' catalog moving to Virgin Records, as well as the accompanying remastering of their Rolling Stone Records catalog (1971's Sticky Fingers through 1989's Steel Wheels -- actually 1991's Flashpoint, which is the last Rolling Stones Records release, but isn't featured here), Jump Back supplants Rewind as the best single-disc overview of the Stones' '70s and '80s recordings. The non-chronological order at times is a little irritating -- bouncing between "Brown Sugar," "Harlem Shuffle," "It's Only Rock & Roll (But I Like It)," "Mixed Emotions," and "Angie" nearly causes whiplash -- but nearly all the big songs from this period are included. Yes, "She Was Hot" isn't here, along with a couple other singles that didn't catch hold, but this has everything that the casual follower could want, which makes up for the fact that it could have been sequenced better (that's what home programming and burners are for anyway).


Back To Discografi