Singles Collection-London Year

4. August 1989

 CD (US-ABKCO 1218-2 UK-London8209002)
                 2002 CD (ABKCO 8823072).   Digitally remastered new version of this classic album 

Producer: Andrew Oldham, Jimmy Miller & The Glimmer Twins.

Highest Charts Position : US 16 - UK-


Disc: 1

  1. Come On
  2. I Want to Be Loved  
  3. I Wanna Be Your Man
  4. Stoned
  5. Not Fade Away
  6. Little By Little
  7. It's All Over Now
  8. Good Times, Bad Times
  9. Tell Me
10. I Just Want to Make Love to You
11. Time Is on My Side
12. Congratulations
13. Little Red Rooster
14. Off the Hook
15. Heart of Stone
16. What a Shame
17. The Last Time
18. Play with Fire
19. Satisfaction
20. The Under-Assistant West Coast Promotion Man
21. The Spider and the Fly
22. Get Off of My Cloud
23. I'm Free
24. The Singer Not the Song
25. As Tears Go By

Disc: 2

  1. Gotta Get Away
  2. 19th Nervous Breakdown
  3. Sad Day
  4. Paint It Black
  5. Stupid Girl
  6. Long Long While
  7. Mother's Little Helper
  8. Lady Jane
  9. Have You Seen Your Mother, Baby, Standing in the Shadow? .
10. Who's Driving Your Plane?
11. Let's Spend the Night Together
12. Ruby Tuesday
13. We Love You
14. Dandelion
15. She's a Rainbow
16. 2000 Light Years from Home
17. In Another Land
18. The Lantern
19. Jumpin' Jack Flash
20. Child of the Moon

Disc: 3

  1. Street Fighting Man
  2. No Expectations
  3. Surprise, Surprise
  4. Honky Tonk Women
  5. You Can't Always Get What You Want
  6. Memo from Turner
  7. Brown Sugar
  8. Wild Horses
  9. I Don't Know Why
10. Try A Little Harder
11. Out of Time
12. Jiving Sister Fanny
13. Sympathy for the Devil

 The three-disc box set Singles Collection: The London Years contains every single the Rolling Stones released during the '60s, including both the A- and B-sides. It is the first Stones compilation that tries to be comprehensive and logical -- for all their attributes, the two Hot Rocks sets and the two Big Hits collections didn't present the singles in chronological order. In essence, the previous compilations were excellent samplers, where Singles Collection tells most of the story (certain albums, like Aftermath, Beggars Banquet and Let It Bleed, fill in the gaps left by the singles). The Rolling Stones made genuine albums -- even their early R&B/blues albums were impeccably paced -- but their singles had a power all their own, which is quite clearly illustrated by the Singles Collection. By presenting the singles in chronological order, the set takes on a relentless, exhilarating pace with each hit and neglected B-side piling on top of each other, adding a new dimension to the group; it has a power it wouldn't have had if it tried to sample from the albums. Although it cheats near the end, adding singles from the Metamorphosis outtakes collection and two singles from Sticky Fingers, this captures the essence of the '60s Stones as well as any compilation could. Casual fans might want to stick with the Hot Rocks sets, since they just have the hits, but for those that want a little bit more, the Singles Collection is absolutely essential



Back To Discografi