Hot Rocks 1964-1971


 Compilation  2-LP  (Decca SKL ----)

2CD- August 1985 UK-London CD8201422)

 double-LP ‘Hot Rocks 1964 - 1971 (London 2PS 606/7, -USA). Greatest Hits-compilation.

   - Time Is On My Side (Jerry Ragavoy)  12x5-version

  - Heart Of Stone (MJ/KR)

  - Play With Fire (Nanker Phelge)

  - Satisfaction (MJ/KR)

  - As Tears Go By (MJ/KR/Andrew Oldham)

  - Get Off Of My Cloud (MJ/KR)

  - Mother’s Little Helper (MJ/KR)

   - 19th Nervous Breakdown (MJ/KR)

  - Paint It Black (MJ/KR)

  - Under My Thumb (MJ/KR)

  - Ruby Tuesday (MJ/KR) 

  - Let’s Spend The Night Together (MJ/KR)

  - Jumpin' Jack Flash (MJ/KR)

  - Street Fighting Man  (MJ/KR)

  - Sympathy For The Devil (MJ/KR)

  - Honky-Tonk Women (MJ/KR)

  - Gimme Shelter (MJ/KR)

  - Midnight Rambler (MJ/KR) (live)

  - You Can’t Always Get What You Want (MJ/KR)

  - Brown Sugar (MJ/KR)

  - Wild Horses (MJ/KR)

 This two-LP/two-CD set is both a lot more and a bit less than what it seems. It is seven years worth of mostly very high-charting, and all influential and important, songs, leaving out some singles in favor of well-known album tracks and, in the process, giving an overview not just of the Rolling Stones' hits but of their evolving image. One hears them change from loud R&B-inspired rockers covering others' songs ("Time Is on My Side") into originators in their own right ("Satisfaction"); then into taste-makers and style-setters with a particularly decadent air ("Get off of My Cloud," "19th Nervous Breakdown"); and finally into self-actualized rebel-poets ("Jumping Jack Flash," "Midnight Rambler") and Shaman-like symbols of chaos. On its initial release, Hot Rocks sold well, not only as a unique compilation but also as a panorama of the 1960s. The only flaw was that it didn't give a good look at the Stones' full musical history, ignoring their early blues period and the psychedelic era. There are also some anomalies in Hot Rocks' history for the collector -- the very first pressings included an outtake of "Brown Sugar" featuring Eric Clapton that was promptly replaced; and the original European CD version, issued as two separate discs on the Decca label, was also different from its American counterpart, featuring a version of "Satisfaction" mastered in stereo and putting the guitars on separate channels for the first time. Those musicologist concerns aside, this is still an exciting assembly of material.



Back To Discografi